In 2004, thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers from all four corners, moved by their concern for our planet, came together at a historic gathering, where they decided to form an alliance: The International Council of Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers. This is their story. Four years in-the-making and shot on location in the Amazon rainforest, the mountains of Mexico, North America, and at a private meeting with the Dalai Lama in India, For the Next 7 Generations follows what happens when these wise women unite. Facing a world in crisis, they share with us their visions of healing and a call for change now, before it's too late. This film documents their unparalleled journey and timely perspectives on a timeless wisdom.

Grandmother's Mission Statement:

"We, the International Council of 13 Indigenous Grandmothers, represent a global alliance of prayer, education and healing for our Mother Earth, all her inhabitants, all the children, and for the next seven generations to come. We are deeply concerned with the unprecedented destruction of our Mother Earth and the destruction of indigenous ways of life. We believe the teachings of our ancestors will light the way through an uncertain future. We look to further our vision through the realization of projects that protect our diverse cultures: lands, medicines, language and ceremonial ways of prayer and through projects that educate and nurture our children."

Our Distribution Team:

Carole Hart, Producer/Director: ch@forthenext7generations.com

Laura Jackson, Director of PR: lj@forthenext7generations.com

For the Next 7 Generations is a sponsored project of the Hartley Film Foundation.

"The Hartley Film Foundation cultivates, supports and distributes the highest quality documentaries on world religions, spirituality, ethics and well-being."


For the Next 7 Generations is a project of the Center for Sacred Studies and the International Council of Thirteen Indigenous Grandmothers.

"The Center for Sacred Studies (CSS) is a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to sustaining indigenous ways of life through cross-cultural spiritual practices, ministry and education, and a commitment to peace and unity for all peoples. CSS activities include providing prayer services, ceremonies, and a variety of gatherings for worship, according to various traditions. The purpose of these offerings is to invite individuals, families, and communities to develop devotion, and to strengthen their relationship to the Divine."

Jyoti, Spiritual Director

Darlene Hunter, Executive Director

Ann Rosencranz, Program Director


For the Next 7 Generations would like to thank everyone who donated money to the making of this film.

Dianne Arnold
Cynthia S. Banas
Icasiana Barrs
Ann R. Bartley
Christine Bearse
Peggy A. Bennett
Edward B. Bennett
Olivia Bernhard
Michele Bertini
Annette Blanar
Sydelle Bloch
Warren G. Bodow
Lauryn Boston
Judy Brezina
Pamela Brown
Rosemary Carroll
Karen and Paul Chalmer
Jacqueline Chapin
Michael and Mary Ann Cinelli
Claudia Cismondi
Hilda Classon
Tracy Joy Cockerton
Michael Cody
Matt Cole
Sheila Collins
Connemara Fund
David Copeland
Gary P. Cornelius
Charles and Carol Crenshaw
Nancy Cronyn
Linda Cummins
Emily Catherine Day
Mary Joan DiRocco
Phil Donahue
The Lucius and Eva Eastman Fund
Deborah Ellenberger
Sandy Emerson
Louis Epstein
Harold Erwin
Judith Fickensberger
Carolyn Fine
Marjorie E. Fish
Sandra Fox
Jeremiah Friedman
Laura Gabrels
Danny Goldberg
Grace Goldblatt
Barbara Goodstein
Michelle Gratwicke
Jesse Griffen
Charles Griffin
Susanne Groenendaal
Amanda Gruss
Mary Hamilton
Victoria Hanchin
Hartley Film Foundation
Marina Hauk
Lynn Hays
Leigh Ann Herbert
Patricia Gruning Higgins
Alexandra Jackiw
Myra Jackson
Dina Jaeger
Marijon Johnson
Linda J. Jorgensen
Twila Jukes
Kalliopeia Foundation
Karen Kaplan
Jerome Kauff
Larissa Keet
Vivian Maria Knigge
Joan Kolari
Linea Larsen
Suzanne Lasenza
Stephen Lawrence
Nancy and William Leatzow
Maxinne R. Leighton
Kelly L'Heureux
Andrew Logan
Roseann Lord
C.C. Lovehart
Krystn Madrine
Kelle Maize
Evelyn W. McCleaf
Jillean I. McCommons
Marlene McGinnis Cardin
Eva Meir
Ellen S. Meltzer-Zahn
Lola Moonfrog
Nancy Napier
Edward Nizalowski
Ann Ornish
Dean Ornish
Rajit Patel
Lori Paterno
Katrina Pavlovich
The Philanthropic Collaborative
Toni Pickard
Primary Wave Media
Francis Purcell Jr.
Regina Quinones
Reda Rackley
June Ramsay
Liza J. Rankow
Geetha Rathnamala
Ann Rockfeller Roberts' Fund for Abundance
Honey Rodman
Harriet E. K. Rosenberg
Nancy and Robert V. Russell
Sini Salminen
Jude Sauko
David and Lynn Schlow
Schwab Charitable Fund
Gladys Schwarcz
Paula Cook Sculley
Amalia Shaltiel
John Simon
Robert Smith
Efran Solanas
Jim Sparandeo
Christopher E. Stamos
David Stickell
Patricia Sullivan
Deborah Sullivan
Betsy Sussler
Tides Foundation
Diana Theiss
Marlo Thomas
Threshold Foundation
Carolyn Tricomi
Frank Valley
Alison Van Dyk
Lisa Waldrup
Maureen Walsh
Brian and Ulla Weiner
Charles and Ashley Wile
Barbara Wilk
Sandra Wright
Leigh York
Mary P. Young
Marianne and Walter Zubryckyj